Maguire labels Ronaldo the 'greatest ever match-winner' after Norwich win

Manchester United centre back Harry Maguire believes that Cristiano Ronaldo is football’s “greatest ever match-winner”, following his decisive penalty against Norwich City.

The 36-year-old proved the difference once again, as his second penalty of the season helped United secure another crucial three points.

After being dragged down by Norwich right-back Max Aarons, United’s number seven sent Tim Krul the wrong way to score his seventh Premier League goal of the season.

Photo by Alex Pantling/Getty Images

Thanks to an inspired David de Gea, United held on to make it back-to-back 1-0 Premier League wins, under Ralf Rangnick.

Ronaldo’s composure was praised by the club’s captain and his ability to come up with the goods in the clutch moments, is something that Maguire believes is unrivalled.

Speaking via the club’s official website after the hard-fought victory, Maguire said: “Obviously Cristiano is in the team, so when that happens you’ve got the greatest ever match-winner there has ever been.”

Photo by DANIEL LEAL/AFP via Getty Images

The former Leicester City centre back was always confident that Ronaldo was going to give United the lead from the spot.

Maguire added: “He can put it [anywhere]. He went down the middle last time, he reversed this time and he can go the other side as well.

“But yeah when he was stepping up I was rather confident because that’s what Cristiano does.”

Photo by Alex Pantling/Getty Images

United’s number five believes that the club possess three ‘magnificent’ penalty takers in Ronaldo, Bruno Fernandes and Marcus Rashford.

Ronaldo now has 13 goals from 16 starts so far this season and fresh after scoring his first career goal against the Canaries, the five-time Ballon d’Or winner will be looking to open his account against Brentford on Tuesday.

Thoughts? Comment Below
LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Passionate Football fan that completed a NCTJ-accredited Diploma in Multimedia Sports Journalism in 2016.