Raphael Varane was forced off injured for France against Spain in the UEFA Nations League final.

Varane left the pitch after 42 minutes in a potential nightmare situation for Manchester United.

Club captain Harry Maguire is out injured already and so United’s options at the position are already thin.

This leaves Victor Lindelof and Eric Bailly as United’s only fit centre-backs.

Phil Jones and Teden Mengi are emergency options.

Spain v France - UEFA Nations League Final
(Photo by Sportinfoto/DeFodi Images via Getty Images)

United are heading into a tough fixture list in the Premier League and Champions League.

PremierInjuries.com forecast Maguire has a 25 per cent chance of being fit for the Leicester game.

 

Bailly is currently on international duty with Ivory Coast. He has played one match for United this season.

He could now be plunged into a crucial role. The extent of Varane’s injury is unclear.

Varane was able to leave the pitch by himself, which was a good sign. Hopefully his substitution was just a precaution and he will be able to make a swift recovery.

Manchester United’s next 10 fixtures after the international break

  1. Leicester City (A)

    Saturday October 16, 3pm, Premier League

  2. Atalanta (H)

    Wednesday October 20, 8pm, Champions League

  3. Liverpool (H)

    Sunday October 24, 4.30pm, Premier League

  4. Tottenham (A)

    Saturday October 30, 5.30pm, Premier League

  5. Atalanta (A)

    Tuesday November 2, 8pm, Champions League

  6. Manchester City (H)

    Saturday November 6, 12.30pm, Premier League

  7. Watford (A)

    Saturday November 20, 3pm, Premier League

  8. Villarreal (A)

    Tuesday November 23, 5.45pm, Champions League

  9. Chelsea (A)

    Sunday November 28, 4.30pm, Premier League

  10. Arsenal (H)

    Tuesday November 30, 8pm, Premier League

Have something to tell us about this article?