Manchester United will face Lyon in the team’s second pre-season friendly of 2023.

Erik ten Hag has selected a squad to travel to Edinburgh for today’s pre-season game, with a handful of minor changes to the one which beat Leeds 2-0 last week.

Tom Heaton, Maxi Oyedele, and Shola Shoretire are all out, for reasons not disclosed. Elyh Harrison, Donny van de Beek, and Antony are in, with Fred travelling once more and hoping to be included.

Meanwhile the shock news is Jonny Evans inclusion, after the free agent signed a short-term deal. He replaced Rhys Bennett, who is now injured. All of the returning international players remain at Carrington.

READ: Confirmed Manchester United transfers in, out, loans, releases, youth for 2023/24

Manchester United v Leeds United - Pre-Season Friendly
Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt – AMA/Getty Images

Predicted Manchester United XI v Lyon

Manchester United are expected to turn to Matej Kovar to start this game in goal, after a very promising 45 minutes against Leeds. Nathan Bishop will likely play the second half.

The back four are likely going to be the same quartet which started against Leeds. This will feature three of four regular starters. Lisandro Martinez, Raphael Varane and Aaron Wan-Bissaka, plus Alvaro Fernandez at left-back.

In the second half we could see Jonny Evans alongside Will Fish at centre-back, with Marc Jurado and Brandon Williams at full-back.

The midfield three could also be unchanged after a strong first half against Leeds. This will involve Kobbie Mainoo, Mason Mount and Hannibal.

In the second half we would expect to see Donny van de Beek and Fred get a run out, along with Isak Hansen-Aaroen.

Antony‘s return could see him start, as part of a front three with Amad and Jadon Sancho.

The second half rotation would involve Omari Forson, and last week’s goalscorers Joe Hugill and Noam Emeran.

Predicted Manchester United line-up v Lyon

24-man squad in full

Goalkeepers: Nathan Bishop, Elyh Harrison, Matej Kovar.

Defenders: Jonny Evans, Alvaro Fernandez, Will Fish, Marc Jurado, Lisandro Martinez, Raphael Varane, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Brandon Williams.

Midfielders: Fred, Dan Gore, Hannibal, Isak Hansen-Aaroen, Kobbie Mainoo, Mason Mount, Donny van de Beek.

Forwards: Amad, Antony, Noam Emeran, Omari Forson, Joe Hugill, Jadon Sancho.

Related Topics