Manchester United have named their squad for the pre-season game against French giants Lyon in Scotland, with plenty of players looking to impress Erik ten Hag as the Premier League season gradually approaches.

The big news is free agent Jonny Evans is included, having trained with the squad in recent days.

Manchester United v Leeds United - Pre-Season Friendly
Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt – AMA/Getty Images

Onana is not included in travelling squad but Mount is

Manchester United have reportedly agreed a fee with Inter Milan for Andre Onana for £43 million plus add-ons according to The Times, but the former Ajax goalkeeper, as expected, will not be on the plane to Scotland.

Onana is flying in for his medical this evening according to Fabrizio Romano with the contract, which is likely to be a five-year deal, likely to be signed either tomorrow or Thursday, according to the Italian journalist.

Mason Mount, however, is in the squad and looked in good spirits in the team’s training sessions as United gear up for a busy pre-season fixture list with Wrexham, Arsenal, and Real Madrid among the sides that Erik ten Hag will pit his side against in a bid to get his players fit and firing ahead of the new Premier League season.

Kobbie Mainoo is given another opportunity

After impressing against Leeds United, Kobbie Mainoo is set to be given another opportunity to impress and will likely make the tour squad to America, as Ten Hag will be keen to see how he fairs against the likes of Real Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, and Arsenal – it will be a great litmus test to see if the midfielder is ready.

With United reportedly looking for a second midfielder according to Romano, this could give Mainoo a chance to prove to the Dutch manager that United don’t need another midfielder.

Elsewhere Donny van de Beek and Antony are in, as is Fred, who travelled for the first game but did not feature.


Goalkeepers: Nathan Bishop, Elyh Harrison, Matej Kovar.

Defenders: Jonny Evans, Alvaro Fernandez, Will Fish, Marc Jurado, Lisandro Martinez, Raphael Varane, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Brandon Williams.

Midfielders: Fred, Dan Gore, Hannibal, Isak Hansen-Aaroen, Kobbie Mainoo, Mason Mount, Donny van de Beek.

Forwards: Amad, Antony, Noam Emeran, Omari Forson, Joe Hugill, Jadon Sancho.

Related Topics