Kobbie Mainoo has been awarded Manchester United’s prestigious Jimmy Murphy Award for 2022/23.

The award is named after Murphy, who stoically helped Sir Matt Busby rebuild the club after the 1958 disaster.

United announced Mainoo has been awarded the honour and was presented with the Jimmy Murphy Award at half-time of the Premier League game against Chelsea.

Mainoo, 18, made his first team debut for the club this season, starting in the Carabao Cup and also featuring in the Premier League and FA Cup.

Manchester United v Reading: Emirates FA Cup Fourth Round
Photo by James Gill – Danehouse/Getty Images

Mainoo follows Alejandro Garnacho who won the award last season. He has since gone onto become a first team player.

Head of Academy Nick Cox told the club website: “Kobbie has had an exceptional season and risen to every challenge that he has faced. He has been at the club from a really young age and has always been an exciting talent but, importantly, he’s shown the work rate and desire to succeed.

“Every time Kobbie has played for an Academy side this year, he has performed to a very high standard and that has given him the platform to go and impress Erik ten Hag and the first-team coaches.

Former winners of the Jimmy Murphy Award include current teammates Shola Shoretire, Marcus Rashford and Anthony Elanga, along with club legends Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes.

It is no guarantee he will make it at United, as the mixed success of players who won the award between 1982 and 2022 shows, but it is a great honour to follow in some of the famous names who have done so.

Previous Jimmy Murphy Award winners

Related Topics

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know