Current and former Manchester United players react to Wayne Rooney's PL Hall of Fame induction

Manchester United players past and present have reacted to the news that Wayne Rooney has been inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The Red Devils legend, who is the club’s all-time top goalscorer, was this morning named alongside former Arsenal captain Patrick Vieira who join United greats David Beckham, Eric Cantona and Roy Keane in the illustrious group.

Launched last year, the Hall of Fame recognises and honours retired legends who have a mesmeric record of on-pitch success and have helped raise the profile of the league since its inception in 1992, as the highest individual honour awarded to players by the Premier League.

Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Alan Shearer (260) is the only man above Rooney (208) for the number of goals scored in the Premier League.

The ultimate team player, Rooney was willing to take a step back and allow the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Robin van Persie to be the main men at different times in the Manchester United team.

England’s record scorer would often take up wide positions or a deep-lying midfielder role to ensure Sir Alex Ferguson’s side were well-balanced and well-placed to challenge for major honours.

Rooney was destined for stardom as soon as he announced himself to the footballing world as the 16-year-old who scored the stunning goal to end Arsenal’s unbeaten run.

Photo by CARL COURT/AFP via Getty Images

The 36-year-old has always had a knack of scoring special goals – whether it be the volley against Newcastle, the bicycle kick against Manchester City or his effort from the halfway line against West Ham with a star struck Beckham in attendance.

During 13 seasons at Old Trafford, Rooney scored 183 top-flight goals and was a five-time Premier League winner.

Several current and former Manchester United players have reacted to Wayne Rooney’s induction as well some notable names across the sporting world.

Thoughts? Comment Below
Passionate Football fan that completed a NCTJ-accredited Diploma in Multimedia Sports Journalism in 2016.