Confirmed Manchester United XI v Atletico Madrid

Erik ten Hag has confirmed his Manchester United starting XI to face Atletico Madrid in the final overseas game of pre-season.

United face the side who knocked them out of last season’s Champions League in Oslo and remain unbeaten so far this summer.

Photo by Matthew Ashton – AMA/Getty Images

Manchester United confirmed XI v Atletico Madrid

Starting XI: De Gea, Dalot, Maguire, Lindelof, Malacia, McTominay, Fred, Elanga, Fernandes, Rashford, Martial

Substitutes: Heaton, Kovar, Laird, Martinez, Telles, Eriksen, Pellistri, Garner, Van de Beek.

The big news is new signings Lisandro Martinez and Christian Eriksen have been left on the bench for this one.

Erik ten Hag makes three changes to the side which drew with Aston Villa last weekend.

Tyrell Malacia has come in at left-back in place of Luke Shaw, who has been left out of the travelling squad entirely.

Scott McTominay is fit again and has returned to the side instead of Donny van de Beek, who was disappointing last time out when given a chance.

Anthony Elanga gets a start here because Jadon Sancho has not even been included among the substitutes despite being named in the travelling squad, because he woke up ill today.

Cristiano Ronaldo is not with the squad in Oslo but has indicated he will make his first pre-season appearance in tomorrow’s Old Trafford friendly against Rayo Vallecano.

Thoughts? Comment Below
LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Sam Preston is an NCTJ gold standard news and sports journalist who studied with the Press Association. He also has a 2:1 law with French law degree from the University of Birmingham, which included a year studying at Bordeaux Montaigne University. He is an FA Level 1 football coach who appeared on the BBC’s Victoria Derbyshire show in 2018 and has also written digital football content and match-day programme pieces for Colchester United, Mansfield Town and Stockport County.