Confirmed Manchester United line-up v Liverpool

Manchester United will be hoping to register our first Premier League point of the Erik ten Hag era when bitter rivals Liverpool come to Old Trafford tonight.

Here is the line-up the Dutchman has selected for the clash against Jurgen Klopp’s side.

Starting XI: De Gea, Dalot, Varane, Martinez, Malacia, McTominay, Eriksen, Fernandes, Sancho, Rashford, Elanga.

Substitutes: Heaton, Wan-Bissaka, Maguire, Shaw, Fred, Van de Beek, Garnacho, Martial, Ronaldo.

Confirmed Manchester United line-up v Liverpool

Photo by Tom Purslow/Manchester United via Getty Images

Having lost our two opening games of the season against Brighton & Hove Albion and Brentford, Ten Hag will be desperate to get off the mark against last season’s FA Cup and League Cup winners.

The last Manchester United manager to lose his first three games in charge in all-competitions was John Chapman in 1921.

A win for Ten Hag’s side could see us climb as high as 13th place in the table, however, a defeat would see us drop back to the bottom of the table.

Liverpool beat the twenty-time league champions 9-0 on aggregate across the two Premier League games last season.

Photo by Tom Purslow/Manchester United via Getty Images

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s Reds were on the receiving end of a 5-0 annihilation against the Anfield side at the Theatre of Dreams.

Ten Hag has made four changes to the side that was hammered 4-0 in west London by Brentford last time out.

Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, Fred and Cristiano Ronaldo drop to the bench, and in come Raphael Varane, Tyrell Malacia Scott McTominay and Antony Elanga.

Casemiro is expected to be unveiled as Manchester United’s fourth signing of the Ten Hag era before kick off with his move from Real Madrid finalised after the Brazilian gave his farewell to Los Blancos earlier today.

Thoughts? Comment Below
Passionate Football fan that completed a NCTJ-accredited Diploma in Multimedia Sports Journalism in 2016.