Erik ten Hag has named his Manchester United starting line-up for this afternoon’s Premier League clash against leaders Arsenal at The Emirates.

The Red Devils, who could move above Newcastle United into third place by avoiding a defeat, are eight points behind Mikel Arteta’s Gunners, having played a game more.

Here is the line-up Ten Hag has picked for the clash in north London:

Starting XI: De Gea, Wan-Bissaka, Varane, Martinez, Shaw, McTominay, Eriksen, Fernandes, Antony, Rashford, Weghorst.

Substitutes: Heaton, Lindelof, Maguire, Malacia, Mainoo, Fred, Pellistri, Garnacho, Elanga.

Confirmed Manchester United line-up against Arsenal

With Casemiro suspended for the clash against Arsenal, Ten Hag has decided to bring in Scott McTominay, who hasn’t started a league game since October, to replace the Brazilian over Fred.

Arteta’s Arsenal have only lost one Premier League game this season, and that was a 3-1 defeat to Manchester United at Old Trafford in September, a game in which Casemiro started on the bench and only came on to play the last ten minutes.

With Anthony Martial not fit enough to travel, Wout Weghorst makes his second consecutive start for the Red Devils.

The 19-time Netherlands international will face off against Arsenal for the first time in his career and Aaron Wan-Bissaka makes his sixth consecutive Premier League start with Diogo Dalot still out.

Crystal Palace v Manchester United - Premier League
Photo by Sebastian Frej/MB Media/Getty Images

The twenty-time league champions haven’t beaten Arsenal away from home in the Premier League since December 2017 when Jose Mourinho was at the helm.

If the Reds are to summon a title challenge in Ten Hag’s first year in the hot seat, a second win of the season against the Gunners seems a must.

Although United’s nine-game winning streak came to an end following the 1-1 draw at Crystal Palace, Ten Hag’s Reds have lost just one in their last 20.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

More in Match Coverage